Inside, Outside & Jimmy by Eileen Myles

I was having an exchange online with a friend about a book of essays I just published and in response to him saying he was enjoying reading it I gave a short essay in reply about my suffering. How utterly hard this book was . . . not so much to write but to put together. It was a monster. Every time I read publicly from this book I make similar allusions to the martyrdom of the process . . .

Read the entire post and return here to comment.

1 Comment

  1. thomasbrady said,

    September 4, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I once wrote a poem during a fall from the Empire State building.

    What’s amazing is that I was extremely calm,

    Even meditative, during my descent,

    And yet the poem I wrote can be described as ‘panicked.’

    Actually, the event itself could have been tragic.

    I almost hit and killed James Schuyler.